Health and Happiness

I don’t know if any of you remember or have been following long enough to have read the post, but around August last year I mentioned in a post called Back to School that I had started working with a Dr with regards to my problems with inability to lose weight.  Well in the course of the last 12 months I have managed to gain 20lbs.  The road has not been easy but I managed to lose the first 10lbs on my own, and then over the last 6 weeks I have lost a further 13.8lbs.  One of the problems that has been solved in the last 14 months is that having spent 5 weeks in the UK and Norway last Christmas I did not suffer from S.A.D (Seasonal Affective Disorder) for the first time in over 15 years.  This was a wonderful relief to me.  Unfortunately no matter how hard we tried we could not get my thyroid levels to where they were supposed to be.  All other levels had sorted themselves out.  We had been trying to use the natural thyroid, but that wasn’t working so my Dr switched me across to Synthroid soon after I returned from England.  Then my emotional outbursts returned and I went in for yet another round of bloodwork.  We discovered that my T3 levels had dropped through the floor.  For those of you who aren’t aware it is our T3 that helps our emotions, weight loss etc.  Our body is supposed to convert the T4 to T3 on its own, but it seemed my body, as usual, had other plans.  OK so now we add in more meds to provide the T3.  Yup, that did the job and levels went to where they should be but now I’m 20lbs up on where I was when I first started seeing the Dr 12 months ago.  I managed to get the first 10lbs off on my own, but the 2nd 10 were not going to shift.

In June I went back to the Dr again and explained the situation and told him that I had a holiday planned for end September and I really want to have lost the 10lbs plus more if possible.  I got myself a trainer at the gym (the new YMCA at the end of the street) and headed full scale into this.  I started working with the trainer towards end of April, but it was 24th June I saw the Dr.  I have been put on a stimulant for 2 months and am almost 6 weeks in so just another 2 weeks to go.  The stimulant is supposed to help my body burn the fat a little more and helpfully boost the weight loss.  Unfortunately, or fortunately, it is also an appetite suppressant so I’m having to force myself to eat.

The plan of action I have followed for the last 6 weeks has been:

Eat 1700 calories a day
Burn 2555 calories a day aiming for an 850 calorie a day deficit with the plan to lose at least 1.7lbs per week

The calories are to be made up in 35% protein; 45% carbs; 20% fat.  Using the bodybugg that I purchased I can now monitor all calories burned and then logging online I input all food eaten (yes every portion that goes into my mouth is weighed).  I have a version 3 Bodybugg and am actually on my second one.  On the few occasions we have been out to eat I have checked out their menus online ahead of time to work out what I am going to order.  Over the last 6 weeks I have watched John and Kirsten eat Rubios take away in front of me and plenty of icecream with caramel and chocolate sauce.  I’ve allowed myself a few treats but nowhere near what I would usually have, and for those of you who know us, we don’t over indulge at all.  It hasn’t been easy and I’ve worked out at the gym 3 times a week: Sunday, Monday, and Wednesday.  Sunday has purely been a 2 hour cardio workout whereas Mondays and Wednesdays have been a mixture.  These were the 2 days I worked out with my trainer, but unfortunately he left 2 weeks’ ago and I’ve chosen to see how I get along without him for a few weeks.  Mondays and Wednesdays are 30 minutes cardio followed by 30 minutes of core/strength training.  I then go back and do a further 45-60 minutes cardio and finish with a 10-15 minute stretch.  Next Tuesday I will find out how well I’ve done without the trainer as I am going for a Bod Pod weigh-in.  This accurately lets me know now just how many lbs I’ve lost but the breakdown of whether they are fat or lean weight.  It will be 3 weeks since the last time and they have all been without a trainer.  I learned a lot from my trainer, but I like having someone there to push me!

I hope to lose at least another 5lbs before we go on holiday, but the closer I can get to 10lbs loss before the happier I’ll be.  I have to say thank you to John for his support with this, because trust me, dinner most evenings is extremely bland.

One Response to Health and Happiness

  1. For one reason or another, I can’t see all of this blog, the text keeps disappearing? Are you utilizing XHTML?

Leave a Reply

