Kirsten Iceskating

I know, I know…two posts in one day but I have a lot of catching up to do as I want to make sure when I go away in 4 weeks’ time everything is completely up-to-date so that when I get back I only have to post about what we have done during the trip.

Kirsten was given a pair of ice skates by her Norwegian Great Grandmother last Christmas.  To me she is known as Mormor (Norwegian for Mother’s Mother) and to Kirsten she will be referred to as Oldemor (Great-Grandmother).  Some of you will know and others won’t that when John and I moved to Arizona back in 2002 I decided to take up the sport of Figure Skating but stopped when I discovered that I was pregnant and hadn’t been back since.  Kirsten had started to mention that she wanted to go iceskating and not because I had made the suggestion to her but because she had a number of bedtime stories that mentioned skating and a number of the programmes she watches on tv also mention it occasionally.  The other Thursday, 21 October, Kirsten had an early release day at school and it was also Parents n Pups at the icerink.  This meant that during the Learn to Skate session for children part of the ice is set aside for parents to take their toddlers (2.5 – 5 years old) on the ice for a group lesson too which I thought would be perfect.  I had already confirmed with the ice rink that it wasn’t sold out in advance ie people signed up for the complete 6 weeks, so that Kirsten and I could do a drop-in class (just turn up).  On the Monday after swimming (which is right by the rink) we had popped into the rink and had both pairs of skates sharpened.

On Thursday after school Kirsten was forced down for a nap as I knew it would be a late night.  The class runs from 5.45 – 6.30pm and Kirsten is normally going up for a bath between 6.30-7pm so there was no way that would happen.  The staff at the ice rink welcomed me back with open arms and it was as if I hadn’t been away for the last 4 years.  I’m hoping to take Kirsten again tomorrow.  If she shows as much enjoyment then I suspect that we will stop swim classes and start iceskating class in the New Year instead.  I look forward to that too as it is something I can do with Kirsten, but ultimately it is Kirsten’s choice.  John also left work early so that he would be able to be there too.  Kirsten was wrapped up wonderfully warm as we used some of the clothes that I have purchased for our trip back to England over Christmas.  In actual fact she was so warm and toasty she just didn’t want to get off the ice at the end.  I’d layered her up with tights, leggings and snow trousers on the bottom half and on the top she had a cotton long sleeved t-shirt, fleece jacket and the snow trousers as they were actually dungarees and you can see she had her cycling helmet on her head and also mittens.  The mittens were the only item of clothing we had a problem with as they kept coming off.  Probably because she was holding onto me so tightly.

Leave a Reply

