Half Marathon – Sunday 17 January

All

So the half marathon has now been and gone and yes I completed with a lot of thanks to my neighbour, Amy McBeth.  I’m not sure I’d have finished without her by my side.  I think this is the 3rd or 4th time that Amy has done the half marathon but she moved to the back of the corals so that she could start with me rather than closer to the front where she could have been.  Because I’d estimated that I’d walk the bulk of it I was actually in the last coral.  The corals were let off in waves of about 2 minutes which meant we didn’t actually start till almost 45 minutes after the official start time.  We maintained a 15 minute mile until mile 9 then I needed to take a potty break so lost 1 minute there.  After that it went downhill so to speak.  My legs just kept seizing and  then it was a matter of completing.  My longest training run/walk had been 9 miles and that had been inside at the gym on a mixture of treadmill and running track.  My longest run outside had been 6.5 miles.  I hadn’t got the mileage in over Christmas that I had hoped due to both Kirsten and I have coughs/colds/flu symptoms.  Anyway I did it and that is something off my bucket list.

If you want to view me crossing the finish line here is a link where you can search on my name: http://arizona.competitor.com/features/finishreplay/  Here is a link that will take you to a page so that you can search on my official results:  http://results.active.com/pages/searchform.jsp?rsID=88865  I think my official time was 3 hours and 23 minutes, 58 seconds which makes it a 15.50 minute mile for those of you trying to work out the maths.

So my next challenge, as some of you will remember and others won’t, is the Tri for the Cure on April 11th.  It is a Sprint Triathlon which means we have a 400 metre swim, 8 mile swim and a 2.25 mile run.  I am scheduled to take part in 2 separate swim clinics to help me with the swimming side of things and I need to get my bike serviced and spend some time getting my backside prepared for the cycling.  Amy McBeth has signed up to join me in this and another friend of mine, Colleen, who John and I know from The Village is also participating.  I’m not certifiably mad just feel I need a little challenge now and then.  Here’s the link if you want to find out more information:  http://www.triforthecureaz.com/index.php

Leave a Reply

