Terrible Twos

John left for his Company’s annual conference this morning at 8.45am and isn’t due back until around 8pm on Wednesday evening.  That’s 5 full days with my daughter on my own.  We hit the terrible twos about 2-3 weeks ago and it isn’t good.  We hit “Time Outs” at exactly the same time.  We have tantrums getting into the car (she climbs straight across to the passenger seat); tantrums getting out of the car (she climbs into the driver’s seat); tantrums in stores (even had the security guard asking me if he could help in Target on Friday).  I’m not sure what else to say.  This week i’ve ended up with a bruised nose, a scratched left cheek and various other bruises from the kicking and scratching where I lift her out of the car.  She can hardly stay in a garage that reaches over 100 degrees!!  Anyway today I just suggested that if she didn’t stop screaming that minute I would put her in “time out” so she walked across to the mat that we have been using, sat down on it, and carried on screaming!  Great…where does that leave me now!!

This morning we went to Ikea and she actually didn’t throw any tantrums in the store which is rare, but did throw one getting into the car and getting out again.  I only had a mini tantrum from Kirsten when it was time to get out of the bath and when she wanted to “bounce” on the bed I explained that she’d run out of time due to not having got out of the bath sooner.  We’ll see what tomorrow brings.  I’ve booked her into childcare at the gym so that I can burn off some personal energy and hopefully she’ll also burn some off.  As for the remainder of our 5 days thankfully we have a swim class on both Monday and Wednesday mornings and we’ll go to storytime at the local library on Tuesday afternoon.  I’ll have to think of something to do in the afternoons that’s different as without Daddy time it’s a long time till bedtime.  We did buy the basic trainset at Ikea this morning and I won’t use it until I have to in the next few days.

I’ll let you know how I do.

Leave a Reply

